One of the most original constructions of the Baroque, it was built between 1679 and 1684 by Guarino Guarini commissioned by the prince Emanuele Filiberto il Muto, son of Tommaso di Carignano.
The terracotta façade is curvilinear, with the elliptical central body projecting towards the inner courtyard.
From the vestibule two curved staircases lead to the main floor, where the party hall was transformed in 1848 into the hall of the subalpine parliament.
The building was doubled from the inside with the creation of the nineteenth-century wing by Giuseppe Bollati based on a design by Gaetano Ferri (1864-1871), with a heavy facade towards the back of Piazza Carlo Alberto.
This, with an equestrian monument to Carlo Alberto, is bordered on the opposite side by the neoclassical façade of the former stables of the prince of Carignano, incorporated into the modern building of the National University Library.
Palazzo Carignano, where Carlo Alberto and Vittorio Emanuele II were born, was the seat of the first subalpine Parliament and then of the first Italian Parliament, until the transfer of the capital to Florence in 1865.
It currently houses the National Museum of the Italian Risorgimento, the Subalpine Deputation of the Patria History, the Institute of History Studies of the Risorgimento and the Piedmont Museum Complex.
Opening hours: Mon – Sun (09.00 AM – 06.00 PM)
Admission: €5 adults, €2,50 reduced
How to reach: Tram 4, 13, 15; Bus 13N, 55, 56, N04, N10, S04, W01, W15, W60
Address: Via Accademia delle Scienze, 5, 10123 Torino TO